Peter Thompson [Portrait: Jennie Slater]

Peter Thompson


(Click for more info…)

Peter Thompson is a prizewinning British classical composer. Born in 1955, his extensive output encompasses most genres: chamber music, vocal music, piano music and orchestral works, including three symphonies.

Peter Thompson is published by Fand Music Press. (View his list of works.)

Selected works include…


  • Symphony no 1
  • Symphony no 2
  • Symphony no 3
  • Five Elegiac Fragments
  • Hampshire Summers
  • Prelude for Orchestra: “Stress”
  • Capriccio for Violin and Orchestra


  • String Quartets nos 1–6
  • String Trio for Two Violins and Cello
  • Roundels for Violin and Cello
  • Ballet for Clarinet in B flat, Cello and Piano
  • Sonatina for Bass Clarinet (or Bassoon) and Cello
  • Meditation for Soprano, Flute and Harp
  • Top o’ the Morning for Brass Quintet


  • Aubade for Flute and Piano
  • Recorder (or Flute) Sonatina
  • Suite of Six Pipers for Recorder and Piano
  • Suite for Oboe and Piano
  • Ballad for Solo Violin
  • Calydon Eclogue for Solo Violin
  • Pastoral for Violin and Piano
  • Three Ritornels for Violin and Piano
  • Romance for Viola or Clarinet and Piano
  • Elegiac Ballad for Solo Cello
  • In Rutland for Solo Cello
  • Cello Sonata
  • Cello Sonatina
  • Écossaises for Cello and Piano
  • Sonnet for Solo Guitar
  • Epithalamium I–III for Organ and Organ Duet


  • Suites nos 1–9
  • Ballad
  • Bicycle Ride
  • Burlesque
  • June Tune
  • March Hares
  • May Song
  • The Renaissance Spirit
  • Sidlesham Quay
  • Sketches & Fancies
  • Soliloquy
  • Sonatina
  • Three November Poems
  • Three Pieces


  • At the Window
  • Carol
  • Hope and Fear
  • The Keys of Heaven (arrangement)
  • Prayer Against Lightning


  • Dark Veils
  • Dawn
  • Echoes
  • Four Swinburne Pictures
  • The Green of the Semiquaver
  • The Lamb
  • The Oblation
  • Three Poems by Helen Clarke
  • Two Henley Poems
  • Two Robert Southey Poems
  • When I was One-and-Twenty